Fakaofo to host 4th session of Tokelau’s 9th government

2018 is the second year of Tokelau’s 9th government. The three 2018 sessions of the General Fono will all be hosted by Fakaofo.

The first 2018 session which will officially open tomorrow focuses on two key activities: the Inauguration of the Incoming Ulu o Tokelau, Afega Gaualofa, his second time as Titular head; and the Budget Mid-Term Review (MTR).

Of special note is the inclusion of a special and historic event, the official launch of the MV Kalopaga. This milestone is significant for the fact the vessel is wholly owned, and funded by the government of Tokelau; and a central cog in the New Zealand territory’s developmental ambitions and aspirations for a quality standard of life for its peoples.

It will be an extra emotional moment for the Ulu o Tokelau designate, also the Minister of Transport, who took on the MV Kalopaga project as a personal mission. Mr Gaualofa will deliver the keynote address for the MV Kalopaga launch.

General Fono 2018 will also deliberate on the processes of governance and priorities for the next two years. The 21 delegates will consider and debate key issues that include the Midterm Budget Review; Education scholarship scheme; the Health Transfer Patient Referral Scheme, update on the Public Service relocation from Apia to Tokelau, and various reports from New Zealand.

For the first time also, the ceremonial events of the General Fono will be livestreamed on the internet, a pilot by the media unit with the full support of the General Fono secretariat. Interested members of the public can join the livestream on: https://www.facebook.com/TE-MANA-141833855912059/

For more information contact: Ms Litia Maiava, Tokelau Media Officer | Em: litia.maiava@tokelau.org.nz | Mob: +690 740165
This is the Ninth National Government of Tokelau, the first was established in 1993.
The list of Ulu-o-Tokelau:
1993 Salesio Lui
1994 Keli Neemia
1995 Lepaio Simi
1996 Pio Tuia
1997 Falima Teao
1998 Kuresa Nasau
1999 Pio Tuia
2000 Kolouei O'Brien
2001 Kuresa Nasau
2002 Pio Tuia
2003 Kolouei O'Brien
2004 Kuresa Nasau / Patuki Isaako
2005 Pio Tuia
2006 Kolouei O'Brien
2007 Kuresa Nasau
2008 Pio Tuia
2009 Foua Toloa
2010 Kuresa Nasau
2011 Foua Toloa
2012 Kelihiano Kalolo
2013 Salesio Lui
2014 Kuresa Nasau
2015 Siopili Perez
2016 Afega Gaualofa
2017 Siopili Perez
2018 Afega Gaualofa

Tokelau is a non-self-governing territory of New Zealand. It is located in the Pacific Ocean north of Samoa and south of the Equator (9 00 S, 172 00 W). It is only accessible by boat, taking an estimated 28hours to reach the closest atoll, Fakaofo, a further three hours to Nukunonu, and another six hours to Atafu.

It is made up of the three small atolls named above, separated from each other by high seas. The total land area is approximately 12 km². The total sea area of the exclusive economic zone is approximately 518,000 km². The height above sea level is between 3-5 meters, the maximum width is 200 meters. Tokelau is therefore particularly vulnerable to natural disasters and impacts of climate change such as sea-level rise.

The people of Tokelau are New Zealand citizens. Their relationship hailed by the United Nations as a model for other territories and administering countries to follow.

The population of 1499 (2016 census) is spread approximately equally among the three atolls (Atafu (541); Fakaofo (506) and Nukunonu (452). The traditional lifestyle was subsistence but Tokelau has moved to a cash economy. The only natural resource of any current economic significance is the fishery of the exclusive economic zone.

Tokelau has no main town; each island has its own administrative centre, hospital, school and basic infrastructure. There are no airstrips or harbours. Access is by ship only, through the Port of Apia, Samoa.

There are approximately 7000 Tokelauans living in New Zealand, and smaller communities live in Australia, American Samoa, Samoa, Rapa Nui, and Hawaii.
Nukunonu delegation arrive at Fale fono-web
CAPTION: Current Ulu-o-Tokelau, Hon Siopili Perez leading the Nukunonu delegation arrive in Fakaofo. He is accompanied by Fakaofo Pulenuku Mose Pelasio followed by Ulu-o-Tokelau designate, Hon Afega Gaualofa and Nukunonu elder Nui Sakaria.